Department of Physics

The Department of Physics was established in 2006, the year of inception of the Institute. The Department started with two young faculty members under the guidance of a retired Professor of Physics from a reputed Government Engineering College of the state. Since its inception, the Department has been providing the Engineering Physics courses to all branches running B.Tech. programme. The Department has a well equipped Laboratory for B.Tech. & B.Sc. Physics courses. Excellence in teaching has been the hallmark of the Department ever since its inception. Members of the Department actively participate in organizing National Science Day at the Institute every year and a host of other extra-curricular activities. Talks are organised from time to time where eminent Physicists are invited to deliver lectures on important topics in order to keep the students abreast of current developments. The Department boasts of a well stocked Library of books for B.Tech. Physics and undergraduate Physics courses. The Department started B.Sc. Physics (Honours) course from the session 2020-2021 under Assam Science and Technology University. The new course curriculum of B.Sc. Physics programme under NEP 2020 will commence from this academic session 2023 where a student can opt for interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary courses. The 2 years postgraduate programme in Physics is going to start from this academic session. 


We shall enable our students to understand and appreciate the laws and principles of Physics that govern the universe. Our students shall extend this understanding to the society for creation of rational and scientific spirit amongst the people.

  • To inculcate in the students the skill of deep observation, critical thinking and the capacity for innovative problem solving.
  • To enable our students to relate the laws and the principles of Physics in exploring and explaining the world and encourage them for generation of new ideas, explanations and innovations.
  • To emerge as a leading department known for excellence in teaching and research in Physics.
HoD Message

Dr. LIPI Goswami (Head i/c)

[email protected]


Welcome to the Department of Physics at Girijananda Chowdhury University (GCU), Assam. We started our journey in the year 2006 with teaching in B.E program, GIMT which was affiliated to Gauhati University. From 2013, the B.Tech programs were affiliated to ASTU. With time, the department is continuously growing in order to excel in the fields of teaching and research with the addition of BSc program in 2020 and newly opened M.Sc and PhD courses under GCU. We have grown our expertise and competence in Physics and research with our courses being upgraded and formulated in-line with NEP 2020. We are thankful to all members present from time to time, whose devotion and dedication is also responsible to reach today’s status. The department is achieving its milestones at various stages of its growth with the help of dedicated faculty members, along with the guidance of all the previous department heads, Prof. P. C. Barua, Dr Lipi Goswami and Dr Ajanta Deka.

The department is focused on creating favorable environment for the students, staff and faculty members to give their best to society and the environment. Best wishes.

Programmes Offered

The approach to multidisciplinary study directs the course structure in every programme offered at the department of Physics for the consideration of Natural Sciences to emerge as one comprehensive whole.

Programmes Offered

Programmes at the department of Physics have been specially curated to provide in-depth understanding of Physics.

The department of Physics comes under the School of Natural Sciences of Girijananda Chowdhury University and offers B.Sc. programme in Physics as per FYUP, NEP-2020. Under this program, a student can gather knowledge in Physics with multidisciplinary approach. The program also facilitates a student to choose elective courses from various options, viz theoretical to experimental domains according to their interest.

At present the Department has three faculty members, all of them being Ph.D. degree holders and a Lab Instructor, an M.Sc. in Electronics. All of them are well experienced with long teaching experience. The areas of research of the faculty members are Nanomaterials (theoretical and experimental).The Department has been credited with two sponsored research projects funded by AICTE (under RPS scheme) and MHRD (under TEQIP III programme), respectively, both projects having the Dr. Ajanta Deka as Principal  Investigator. Funds allotted in these projects have been utilised to create Computational facilities with a  Zeon Workstation and Molecular Modelling software for carrying out research work in the field of Material Science. 

Entry requirements

For B.Sc. programme:

  1. (a) Pass in HS/(10+2) examination in Science Stream.
    (b) Must not be less than 17 years of age on 1st August of the year in which the admission is sought.
  2. The admission will be on the basis of merit in the qualifying examination.

For M.Sc. programme :

1. Eligibility: Bachelor’s degree in the relevant/allied discipline from any recognized university or
2. The admission will be on the basis of merit in the qualifying examination.

Career opportunities

Higher studies

A postgraduate in Physics can join higher studies leading to the following degrees

  1.  M.Tech. in areas related to Physics and multi-disciplinary fields
  2.  Ph.D.
  3. M. Sc. (Physics, Applied Physics, Nanotechnology, Geophysics, Energy Science, Atmospheric Science)
  4. MCA
  5. MBA
  6. B. Ed
  7. Technical Short term courses like PGDM

Job Opportunities

Reputed industries and organizations provide high end jobs for Physics postgraduates. Some of them are

  1. Research Analyst
  2. Research Scientist
  3. Assistant Professor
  4. Research Officer
  5.  Observation Scientist
  6. Assistant Scientist
  7. Medical Physicist
  8. Network Administrator
  9. Interface Engineer
  10. Lab Technician
  11. Consulting Physicist
  12. Radiation Oncologist
  13. Statistical Investigator 

Some of the reputed organizations which offer jobs to postgraduates in Physics include ONGC,HPCL, NTPC, BHEL, SAIL, GAIL, BARC, SAC, BIS, IGCAR, ISRO, CGPDTM and Indian Oil. Science graduates are also eligible for jobs through various competitive examinations like UPSC, SSC GCL, IBPS PO, IBPS Clerk, Indian Defense Service, State Public Service Commissions etc.

Special Features of the Department
  • It offers a course curriculum based on NEP-2020, where the students can learn various courses according to their choice. It therefore enhances the knowledge of the students across disciplinary boundaries which in turn help to identify their field of interest.
  • The laboratory work practices develop the hand on skills and also provide the students an opportunity to cultivate team work spirit. The students get a platform to think independently and develop confidence to do a new work.
  • The curriculum also focuses on engaging students in field works as a part of their internship course. It facilitates them to communicate with people with varied experiences and gather theoretical as well as practical knowledge.
  • The research works performed by the students also focuses on identifying various tools, viz softwares to analyse the experimental results, laboratory practices and in turn enhance their knowledge in interdisciplinary domains.

Fee Structure