Department of Physics

The Department of Physics was established in 2006, the year of inception of the Institute. The Department started with two young faculty members under the guidance of a retired Professor of Physics from a reputed Government Engineering College of the state. Since its inception, the Department has been providing the Engineering Physics courses to all branches running B.Tech program. The Department has a well equipped Laboratory for B.Tech Physics courses. Excellence in teaching has been the hallmark of the Department ever since its inception. Members of the Department actively participate in organizing National Science Day at the Institute every year and a host of other extra-curricular activities. Talks are organised from time to time where eminent Physicists are invited to deliver lectures on important topics in order to keep the students abreast of current developments. Apart from teaching Engineering Physics courses, the faculty members also assist B. Tech students in carrying out Physics related Project work. The Department boasts of a well stocked Library of books for B.Tech Physics and undergraduate Physics courses. The Department started B.Sc. Physics (Honours) course from the session 2020-2021. 

            At present the Department has two faculty members, all of them being Ph. D. degree holders and a Lab Instructor, an MSc in Electronics. All of them are well experienced with long teaching experience. The areas of research of the faculty members are Nanomaterials (theoretical and experimental).The Department has been credited with two sponsored research projects funded by AICTE (under RPS scheme) and MHRD (under TEQIP III programme), respectively, both projects having the Dr. Ajanta Deka as Principal  Investigator. Funds allotted in these projects have been utilised to create Computational facilities with a  Zeon Workstation and Molecular Modelling software for carrying out research work in the field of Material Science.